The most boring article about pulp fiction you’ll ever read

I envy the pulp writers of the past. They had great entertaining stories, they were prolific, and their writing speed was just inhuman. Some would write a novel in less than a week! Most of us can't even get a short story out by then!

Pulp changed my views on writing in a whole new different and fun way!

When I started my writing, I wanted to become a literary great. Write a novel that made you wonder and think. Something that would hit the bestsellers list and made me a God among men.

But…

Now as I get older, I realize that I don't like to waste time. I've heard of authors doing 1 book every 5 years…yeah, I'm not doing that. Especially as an indie author, I can't afford to have a large gap between projects. I will get buried in a heartbeat.

Neither could the pulp authors, who got paid per word. With their skin-tight deadlines they couldn't afford to take breaks. So they wrote and wrote and wrote usually without editing their work. Hopefully, they could get some coherent words to form a great entertaining story that can be published without any complaints. Or risked having to starve until they did a new one.

They were your everyman or everywoman who needed a job and realized that they can write something for some cash or get stuck having to shovel horse shit off the street. So there you go…you're welcome for the mental images.

Obviously if you're an indie author, you don't have much to worry about like deadlines, but I love to give myself one just for motivation to finish. The only difference now is that we can get the book on Amazon and move on the next one with more speed and ease.

Now onto my next point,

Genres!

Pulp writers usually used genres to craft their stories with hard-boiled detectives to badass adventurers. Anything was fair game at that point I believe like horror, sci-fi, or your good ol' mystery thriller. So before you think about making some plain existential crisis novel, maybe you ought to deep your feet into a mystery story starring a time-traveling detective who needs to find his own killer before its too late. Who wouldn't read that one?!

Reason why I'm bring this up? You ask imaginary person asking me questions.

Well, I'm going to be using some of the methods that the pulp writers used to make my new story. I don't want to say much about it because I don't want to disappoint anyone, but keep that in mind.

So now you know folks! Thank you for reading and also don't forget to subscribe to my mailing list for FREE stuff!

Leave a Reply

